The Museum is owned and operated by the Hindmarsh Historical Society and housed in the State heritage- listed former Fire Station and Christian Chapel. It displays much of the historical equipment, clothing and vehicles from the 1880s onwards belonging to the now-disbanded Hindmarsh Fire Brigade. The Museum also offers a fascinating insight into the history of the Hindmarsh area through an extensive display of objects, images and documents.
The Hindmarsh Volunteers Fire Brigade was the second volunteer fire brigade in the state; Norwood was opened three months earlier. The Brigade was operational from 1884 to 1942 when the government disbanded it during the Second World War and the Metropolitan Fire Brigade took over the responsibilities. The fully restored 1927 Chevrolet Fire Engine used by the Brigade is on display and used in historical parades from time to time and an original Wooden Hand Cart, circa 1890.
The Hindmarsh Historical Society is a voluntary organisation that is committed to preserving memorabilia from the Hindmarsh area. The Honourable Cyril Hutchens, Local Member of Parliament formed the Hindmarsh Historical Society Museum in 1967 for Hindmarsh together with the late Arch Paterson, then Mayor of the Town of Hindmarsh. It was one of the first historical societies in South Australia and its aim was to preserve memorabilia from the Hindmarsh area for future generations to see and enjoy.
More photos can be seen here