The State and National Heritage listed John Horrocks Cottage in Penwortham is owned by the Mt Horrocks Historical Society and is responsible for its upkeep and accessibility to the public.
Located on the corner of Surrey Lane and Horrocks Highway, Penwortham (10 km south of Clare), John Horrocks Cottage is the oldest stone building north of Gawler and was built by pioneer and explorer John Ainsworth Horrocks shortly after his arrival in South Australia in 1839. He was one of the first white men to take up land in the area and founded and named the village of Penwortham after his home in Lancashire, England.
With Government aid and support from the local wineries and traders, the Mt Horrocks Historical Society purchased the cottage in 2001. Restoration has since been ongoing on the cottage. Adjacent to the cottage is a restored stone out-building where visitors can view a collection of photos and books depicting the history of the cottage and the local area while there is also a selection of fundraising merchandise on sale.
The Society instigated arrangements for the unofficial twinning of Penwortham SA with John Horrocks’ home town of Penwortham in Lancashire UK which came to fruition on 22 March 2006.
You can also take a self-guided walk of the village of Penwortham with the help of a printed guide available at the cottage or the Clare Valley Visitor Centre.