Set in the picturesque Koppio Hills, the museum complex features Tom Brennand’s 1903 Blacksmith shop and ‘Glenleigh’, his restored two bedroom thatched cottage (1890); as well as other buildings including the Koppio one-teacher schoolhouse (1934 to 1970) featuring unique collection of early Aboriginal artefacts; a 1910 Port Lincoln tailor shop, Bank of Adelaide building, White Flat Post Office (reportedly the smallest Post Office in the State), and Heritage Hall, opened in 1992 which houses a fascinating collection from the home of the JFW Jericho family who resided in the district from 1909-1995.
In addition there is the ‘Burning Issues’ exhibition in memory of the Black Tuesday bushfires that devastated much of the Lower Eyre Peninsula, killing nine people including 4 children (began 11 January 2005). The display contains poignant stories alongside charred remains as well as paintings, photographs and poems.
There is also a range of display sheds covering hay making, seeding and grain harvesting machinery as well as the Bob Dobbins Barbed Wire collection, horse drawn vehicles and buggies, tractors and stationary engines, and historic printing machinery.
In 1903 Thomas Brennand and his wife Adeline and children Ronald Myrtle and Lester took up residence on the property in 1903 and established the Koppio blacksmith shop and wheelwright business. This was the perfect place for a blacksmith as it was the crossroads to all of the district. It also became the local Post Office, and so was a great gathering place. The Brennand Family donated 2½ acres of their farm to the National Trust. Locals restored the blacksmith and cottage and it was opened to the public in 1968. The museum has grown considerable thanks to a dedicated group of volunteers.