The History Museum is housed in the Mypolonga Institute and consists of a collection of memorabilia, photos, meeting minutes, family histories and much more that reflects the vibrant heritage of our community.
The aim of the Mypolonga History Museum is to:
- collect & preserve the history of Mypolonga and surrounding areas.
- educate the community & others about our history
- to honour our Mypolonga pioneers.
Mypolonga History Group started their history collection in the 1970s, gathering most of the information from the first white settlers who began developing the area just prior to the First World War. The group is supported by the Rural City of Murray Bridge who helped fund the installation of way finding signs for their increasingly popular seven-kilometre History Trail, allowing both tourists and locals to better understand the town’s rich history.
Mypolonga, derived from the local Aboriginal name meaning Cliff Look Out Place, was originally a swamp area about 15km north of the Murray Bridge. The South Australian government reclaimed the land and opened up several thousand acres for fruit growing purposes. The township was eventually surveyed in 1915.
Mypolonga Institute was originally opened as a simple wood and iron structure in 1920. It was extended with this new brick façade in 1928.