Discover the history of Scouting in South Australia from 1909 to present day and in Northern Territory from c1920-1988, including uniforms, badges, documents.
One of the largest collections of Scouting records and memorabilia in Australia, it has been catalogued and is searchable on a database and is housed in one of the Municipal Tramways Trust’s converter stations when electric trams first ran from the city to the beach in 1909.
The Archives has a small permanent display of memorabilia that provides the visitor with a general idea of how Scouting has developed over the past 100 years, and is aimed at the Joey Scouts to Scout Sections. The display includes badges, scarves (neckerchiefs), belts, whistles, spoons, flags, tea towels, posters, framed photographs and awards.
Only small groups of up to 15 people are encouraged to visit at a time due to the space constraints. The Archives is involved in numerous events throughout the year including South Australia’s History Festival, Group birthday celebrations, as well as State and District activities.